Sermons

Woship Services - May 2024

Sunday, May 19, 2024
Series: Conversations with Jesus
Sermon: "Trust the Process"
Scripture: Matthew 13:24-30
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Sunday, May 12, 2024
Series: Conversations with God
Sermon: "God's Call to Dialogue"
Scripture: 1 Samuel 8:1-9
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Sunday, May 5, 2024
Series: Conversations with God
Sermon: "Divine Dialogue"
Scripture: Genesis 12:1-9
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Worship Services - Apr 2024

Sunday, April 28, 2024
Series: Conversations with God
Sermon: "The Art of Conversation: Part II"
Scripture: Exodus 3:1-10
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Sunday, April 21, 2024
Series: Conversations with God
Sermon: "The Art of Conversation"
Scripture: John 1:1-9
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Sunday, April 14, 2024
Series: Wandering Heart
Sermon: "Resurrection Life: The Path to Wholeness"
Scripture: Ephesians 4, Genesis 1 & 2
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Sunday, April 7, 2024
Series: Wandering Heart
Sermon: "Here's My Heart"
Scripture: John 21:9-18
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Worship Services - Mar 2024

Easter Sunday, March 31, 2024
Series: Wandering Heart
Sermon: "Deep is the Hunger for Resurrection"
Scripture; Luke 24:1-12
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Palm Sunday, March 24, 2024
Series: Wandering Heart
Sermon: "Deep is the Hunger for Presence"
Scripture: John 12:12-16
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Sunday, March 17, 2024
Series: Wandering Heart
Sermon: "Deep is the Hunger for Peace"
Scripture: Mark 4:35-41
Preaching: Rev. Victoria Robb Powers

Sunday, March 10, 2024
Series: Wandering Heart
Sermon: "Deep is the Hunger for Purpose"
Scripture: Matthew 16:21-23
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Sunday, March 3, 2024
Series: Wandering Heart
Sermon: "Deep is the Hunger for Transformation"
Scripture: Matthew 16:13-20
Preaching: Rev. Chesna Riley

Worship Services - Feb 2024

Sunday, February 25, 2024
Series: Wandering Heart
Sermon: "Deep is the Hunger for Security"
Scripture: Mark 8:31-33
Preaching: Rev. Laurie Anderson
Senior Minister of Midway Hills (Lenten Pulpit Exchange)

Sunday, February 18, 2024
Series: Wandering Heart
Sermon: "Deep is the Hunger for Status"
Scripture: Luke 5:1-11
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law
 
Sunday, February 11, 2024
Series: I've Been Meaning to Ask...
Sermon: "How do you proclaim the gospel to the world?"
Scripture: 1 Corinthians 9:16-23
Preaching: Rev. Caesar Rentie

Sunday, February 4, 2024
Series: I've Been Meaning to Ask...
Sermon: "What are you committed to?"
Scripture: Acts 10:1-5; 17-23a; 29
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Worship Services - Jan 2024

Sunday, January 28, 2024
Series: I've Been Meaning to Ask...
Sermon: "What do you need?"
Scripture: 2 Timothy 4:9-16
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Sunday, January 21, 2024
Series: I've Been Meaning to Ask...
Sermon: "Where does it hurt?"
Scripture: 1 Samuel 1:1-18; Mark 5:21-43
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Sunday, January 14, 2024
Series: I've Been Meaning to Ask...
Sermon: "Where are you from?
Scripture: Genesis 2:4b-15; John 1:35-51
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

 Sunday, January 7, 2024
Series: I've Been Meaning to Ask...
Sermon: "What do you want to be called?"
Scripture: Genesis 1:1-5
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Worship Services - Dec 2023

Sunday, December 17, 2023
Series: The Gift of Being Present
Sermon: "Being Present with Joy"
Scripture: Luke 1:41-55
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Sunday, December 10, 2023
Series: The Gift of Being Present
Kneeling in Bethlehem: A Festival of Readings and Carols
(arr. Michael Burkhardt, with poetry by Ann Weems)
Sermon: "If we could make it to Bethlehem..."
Scripture: Mark 1:1-8
Guest Preacher: Rev. Chris Dorsey

Sunday, December 3, 2023
Series: The Gift of Being Present
Sermon: Being Present with Hope
Scripture: 1 Corinthians 1:4-7
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Worship Services - Nov 2023

Sunday, November 26, 2023
Series: Because of You Our Church Changes Lives
Sermon: Touch Points
Scripture: Colossians 3:12-17
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Sunday, November 19, 2023
Series: Because of You Our Church Changes Lives
Sermon: Trusting Points
Scripture: Jeremiah 29:11
Preaching: Rev. Dr. Ken G. Crawford

Sunday, November 12, 2023
Series: Because of You Our Church Changes Lives
Sermon: The Turning Point
Scripture: Jonah 1:1-5; 3:1-5
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Sunday, November 5, 2023
Series: Because of You Our Church Changes Lives
Sermon: The Tipping Point
Scripture: Micah 6:1-8
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Worship Services - Oct 2023

Sunday, October 29, 2023
Series: Come to the Table
Sermon: The Table of Overwhelming Abundance
Scripture: Philippians 1:21-30, Matthew 20:1-16
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Sunday, October 22, 2023
Series: Come to the Table
Sermon: The Table of Insurmountable Debt
Scripture: Romans 14:1-12 & Matthew 18:23-33
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Sunday, October 15, 2023
Series: Come to the Table
Sermon: The Table of the Lost
Scripture: Romans 13:8-10; Mark 6:34-44
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Sunday, October 8, 2023
Series: Come to the Table
Sermon: The Table of the Unworthy
Scripture: Luke 14:15-24
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Sunday, October 1, 2023
Series: Come to the Table
Sermon: The Table of the Unexpected
Scripture: Philippians 2:1-13 & Matthew 21:23-32
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Worship Services - Sept 2023

Sunday, September 24, 2023
Sermon: Generation to Generation
Scripture: Matthew 18:15-20
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Sunday, September 17, 2023
Series: Small Things Big Difference
Sermon: The Least You Can Do
Scripture: Genesis 37:12-18
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Sunday, September 10, 2023
Series: Small Things Big Difference
Sermon: More Than the Rest
Scripture: Mark 12:41-44
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Sunday, September 3, 2023
Series: Small Things Big Difference
Sermon: God's Favorite Ingredient
Scripture: 2 Kings 4:1-7
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Worship Services - Aug 2023

Sunday, August 27, 2023
Series: Small Things Big Difference
Sermon: Too Small to See
Scripture: 1 Kings 18:41-46
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Sunday, August 20, 2023
Series: Small Things Big Difference
Sermon: Bigger Isn't Better
Scripture: Judges 7:1-7
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Sunday, August 13, 2023
Series: Small Things Big Difference
Sermon: It's the Little Things
Scripture: Matthew 13:31-33
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Sunday, August 6, 2023
Series: Road Trip
Sermon: The Exodus Road, Part 3
Scripture: Exodus 17:1-7
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Worship Services - July 2023

Sunday, July 30, 2023
Series: Road Trip
Sermon: There and Back Again. A Pastor's Tale.
Scripture: Luke 4:16-22; Exodus 6:2-9
Preaching: Rev. Dr. Ken G. Crawford

Sunday, July 23, 2023
Series: Road Trip
Sermon: The Exodus Road, Part 2
Scripture: Exodus 16:1-8, 21
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Sunday, July 16, 2023
Series: Road Trip
Sermon: The Exodus Road, Part 1
Scripture: Exodus 14:1-4, 29-31
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Sunday, July 9, 2023
Series: Road Trip
Service: SongFest
Led by Leanne Seabright,
Director of Music and Worship Ministry

Sunday, July 2, 2023
Series: Road Trip
Sermon: The Pursuit of Happiness
Scripture: 3 John 1: 2, 3 9, 11
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Worship Services - June 2023

Sunday, June 25, 2023
Series: Be the Neighbor
Sermon: Connective Tissue
Scripture: John 5:19
Preaching: Rev. Deborah Morgan-Stokes

Sunday, June 18, 2023
Series: Be the Neighbor
Sermon: Come to the Table
Scripture: Luke 14:12-24
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law & Rev. Dr. Ken G. Crawford

Sunday, June 11, 2023
Series: Be the Neighbor
Sermon: Change the Narrative
Scripture: Luke 11:5-12
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Sunday, June 4, 2023
Series: Be the Neighbor
Sermon: So, Who is My Neighbor?
Scripture: Luke 10:25-37
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Worship Services - May 2023

Pentecost Sunday, May28, 2023
Series: I Am
Sermon: Resurrection, Again!?...
Scripture: John 11:1-27
Preaching: Rev. Virzola Law

Sunday, May 21, 2023
Series: I Am
Sermon: Faithful Questions and Bold Assertions
Scripture: John 14:1-7
Preaching: Dr. Delesslyn A. Kennebrew

Sunday, May 14, 2023
Series: I Am
Sermon: I Am the Vine
Scripture: John 15:1-6
Preaching: Rev. Allison Lanza

Sunday, May 7, 2023
Series: I Am
Sermon: I Am the Good Shepherd
Scripture: John 10:11-16
Preaching: Rev. Dr. Andy Mangum